Most Chocolaty Ever Torta Caprese

So this was my birthday cake. And, as usual, I made it myself. Not that I had to, but I wanted to. An excuse for baking? Yes, please, I am digging in it. This year, I felt like something super chocolaty and I thought first of making a Sacher Torte. You don’t know what a Sacher Torte is? A popular movie director once said of someone not knowing about Sacher Torte “oh well, let’s go on like this, let’s continue martyrizing ourselves”. I did not want to martyrize myself, so I went for the Italian equivalent of Sacher Torte, Torta Caprese, originally from the Island of Capri, just outside of Naples.

What is special about Torta Caprese is that there is no flour in it. And the amazing moistness of the cake is all due to a happy combination of almonds, dark chocolate, eggs, sugar and butter…. mmmmmm… let’s see how I did mine.

TORTA CAPRESE

You need: 300 g dark chocolate, 300 g peeled almonds, 6 eggs, 150 g caster sugar, 3 table-spoon powdered sugar, 2 tea-spoon vanilla extract, 2 table-spoon cocoa powder, 180 g butter, 1/2 tea-spoon baking powder, a pinch of salt. More powdered sugar to garnish.

How To: Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees (Celsius) and grease a baking pan. Grind the almonds very finely in a food processor. Put aside. Grind the chocolate and add to the ground almonds. Add the cocoa powder and the baking powder and combine. In a separate bowl, mix the egg yolks with the caster sugar. Add the melted butter, cooled off, and the vanilla extract. Combine the egg yolks mixture with the chocolate/almond mixture. In a separate bowl whip the egg whites with a pinch of salt and the powdered sugar until fluffy and firm. Incorporate gently to the rest of the batter and mix with a table-spoon (with a bottom up movement). Pour the mixture into the greased baking pan and bake for 40-45 minutes (until the cake looks firm). Let cool off well before serving, sprinkled with abundant powdered sugar.

CONSIDERATIONS: Did I like it? What do you think… holy yum yes! This was possibly the most chocolaty and gooey chocolate cake I have ever had and I am very happy of how tall it came out, even without the addition of flour and with only a pinch of baking powder. Almost impossible not to have too much, but today is my birthday right? What was your favorite birthday cake ever?

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. If I was allowed to eat chocolate cake, this would be the one I’d have. It looks and sounds divine.

    Reply
  2. And happy birthday! :)

    Reply
  3. I don’t want to martyrize myself either, I’d better make this! The cool thing is that I make some flourless chocolate cookies with almost the same ingredients that I have won 1st place for in the state fair for the past two years. They are also very fudgy so I know I’d love this as a cake!

    Favorite birthday cake ever…the cake my Dad made me when I was like 10. It was my only birthday cake as a child since we didn’t celebrate birthdays, but that morning I woke up to find he’d made me a white confetti cake for my birthday. I really felt special that day and it is a fond memory. I don’t believe either of my sisters ever got cakes until we were grown and I started making them. It was also tres delicious! :)

    Reply
    • yum, then I would have loved your cookies too! isn’t it amazing how many things can be done even without flour?

      so sweet your story of the confetti cake, thank you for sharing! I bet your sisters were super happy when you started to bake their b-day cakes… what a cool big sister!

      xox

      Reply
  4. Spoon Feast

     /  May 2, 2012

    Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday dear Barbara, Happy Birthday to you! (add music)
    Great cake, I am going to try this one this weekend. I bet it would be delicious with berries too.
    I make birthday pies for my birthday. maybe this year it will be this cake.

    Reply
  5. Oh Buon Compleanno a te!! What a gorgeous looking cake to make for yourself as well, (I really look forward to making my own cake as I can always make EXACTLY what I feel like.)
    Hope your day was lovely Barbara.

    Reply
  6. The cake has a fine and moist crumb..I am sure it’s delicious as it’s loaded with chocolate. Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  7. Well, well, well!!! I couldn’t agree more…that cake is gorgeous and look so moist. It’s interesting sans the flour it still is tall. Good job, bday celebrant! Happy birthday again! ;)

    Reply
  8. uao, gorgeous indeed! and happy birthday :-)
    I think the one thing I like to make for my birthday is a cardamom pannacotta my sister made for me when i was coming over for christamas. I loved it so much I’ve been making it for my birthday (and for friends’ birthdays too :-) they didn’t complain)

    Reply

Comments, thoughts, hints... all welcome here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

