Sourdough Pizza Crust

This pizza crust was a total epiphany.

I was frustrated by having to use my starter only on week-ends and my rebellious inner me was screaming “sourdough every day, sourdough every day!”. So I actually managed to find several ways to use my starter also during the week, even at the end of a busy working day. Needless to say, this makes all my inner me(s) extremely happy.

The pizza recipe I am going to describe took little more than 1 h to make, including rising and baking time. Now tell me this is not totally amazing.

SOURDOUGH PIZZA CRUST

You need: 2 cups active starter, 3 cups bread flour, 2/3 cup water, 1 tea-spoon marine salt, 2 table-spoons olive oil, cornmeal.

How to: mix all ingredients except the cornmeal and knead until the dough is silky smooth (about 5 minutes by machine and 10 by hand). Roll the dough and then divide in 4 balls. Gently flatten each ball into a round, place in a baking tray covered with baking paper and sprinkle with cornmeal. Sprinkle some cornmeal also over the pizza crust and cover with plastic foil. Let rest at 85 degrees for 45 minutes (I heated my oven to the minimum, turned off and let cool a little). Now you can put on your favorite pizza topping and bake at a temperature between 450 and 500 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

CONSIDERATIONS: This pizza was unbelievably good. The crumb was slightly crunchy and the center was soft but not mushy. Loved it! And the dough was so elastic that I could make it as thin as I wanted. If you like your pizza thicker, just add a further 5 minutes to the baking time.

This is going to YeastSpotting. Thank you so much Sally, Frankie, and Stephanie for hosting the November posts. Love this community!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. @Kim: yes, the limit with sourdough is just the sky…

    @Veronica: I am back and taken by my baking demon again. It is not me to be amazing, is him ;-)

    @Liz: so nice to see a new entry here. Welcome! Sourdough pizza is a great way to use your starter and, as I wrote, is a quick fix for a sourdough craving.

    @Kate: Welcome to you too. I also love sourdough everything and my family makes fun of it… and then they eat it all! :-)

    Reply
  2. I can picture sourdough as a crust, and there is so much that could be added to it! :)

    Reply
  3. YOU’RE BACK! Yes, you are totally amazing. I mean the crust. No, I mean you. :)

    Reply
  4. This looks so good! Sourdough bread is one of my favorites, so I can only imagine that sourdough pizza dough would be amazing as well!

    Reply
  5. I love sourdough anything…. Great idea! (and good pizza)

    Reply
  1. YEASTSPOTTING 11.11.11 | Bewitching Kitchen

Comments, thoughts, hints... all welcome here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

